Richard D'Avigdor Conference Award

Richard D'Avigdor Conference Award

Applications for the Richard D’Avigdor Conference Award will reopen following easing of travel restrictions.

The Richard D'Avigdor Conference Award (up to $8000) aims to enhance career development opportunities by attendance at major national or international conferences on aspects of the development of digital information provision and access.


  • Early career academic staff employed by UNSW in Level A or B academic positions, working in a field relevant to the delivery of innovative information services
  • UNSW Professional Library staff (on-going employment)
  • Grant applicants should be proposing to attend a conference in the twelve-month period following the application

Selection criteria and considerations

  • Applications will be assessed on the basis of career development potential, reasons for proposed attendance at the nominated conference and the potential benefits to be returned to UNSW.
  • Applicants proposing to deliver papers or sessions at a conference will be well regarded.
  • Conferences should involve aspects on the development of digital information provision and access in the following areas:
    • Information Management
    • Library
    • Research
    • Learning and Teaching
    • University administration/records
  • Consideration of the award as a joint grant will be given to applicants proposing to make a joint conference paper presentation.
  • Grant total applied for is the maximum amount required for the conference costs (including estimated conversion to AUD).

Submit an application

Past recipients

  • 2019 Maude Frances, Vanessa Crosby
  • 2018 "ELISE Team" (Megan Saville, Peter Smith, Wolf Villalta, Nadia Kempfe and Jennifer Whitfield)
  • 2017 Jennifer Platt, Felix Tan, Daniel Bangert, Baichen Zhao
  • 2016 Marnie Feneley
  • 2015 Amy Barker and Richard Gray
  • 2014 Ahmed Imran
  • 2012 Adela Sobotkova
  • 2011 Daniel Schlagwein
  • 2006 Roman Tantiongco and Lorraine Evison
  • 2005 Mary Anne Kennan
  • 2004 Maude Frances
Contact Us