Databases

Search the Library collection for UNSW Library databases and eJournals. Here you will find links to full text journal articles, conference proceedings and newspaper articles. UNSW Library Subject Guides are a starting point, suggesting key databases and other key resources in your subject area.

Developing search strategies

To effectively search a database, you need to:

  • identify keywords and alternative subject terms
  • broaden or narrow your search by combining your terms with Boolean operators such as AND and OR
  • truncate keywords to identify alternate word endings, e.g. searching for climat* will retrieve climate, climatic, climates, climatology
  • evaluate your search results for relevance and quality

Locating full text

Many databases have links to full text, while others provide the citation and abstract only. Where available, select the full text or pdf link.

If a full text or PDF link is not available:

  • select the Find It button to connect to full text via other databases
  • use the LibKey Nomad browser extension available from the Chrome store and choose UNSW Sydney as your institution
  • use the Kopernio browser plugin for Chrome only

If no full text is available, try searching for the article title in the Library collection, making sure to tick the Expand results beyond UNSW Library button under Refine my results. If this is unsuccessful, try searching for the journal title in the Library collection or visit a Library Help Zone.

Citation databases

Postgraduates, academics and researchers can benefit from using citation databases. These databases can help you:

  • find out who is citing your research
  • analyse the impact of published research
  • check the accuracy of cited references in bibliographies
  • track the work of a noted authority in a subject area
  • keep up-to-date with published work in your field of research
  • learn how your research is influencing newer research
  • discover future directions of research

For more information see the Publishing strategy guide: Measurement tools or the Citation analysis and research impact databases category.

If you are having problems accessing a database, see Online resources access checklist. If you need to report a problem, submit an eResource access issues form.

Contact Us