Databases

Library Search is the gateway to UNSW databases and e-journals, providing links to full text journal articles, conference proceedings and newspaper articles.

Find relevant databases

Find databases links you to specialised databases covering a wide range of subject areas.

Subject Guides provide a starting point, suggesting databases and other resources in your subject area.

Develop search strategies

To effectively search a database, you will need to:

  • identify keywords
  • broaden or narrow your search by combining your terms with words such as AND and OR
  • truncate keywords to identify alternate word endings
  • evaluate your search results for relevance and quality

Locate full text

Some databases have links to full text, while others provide the citation and abstract only.
Where available, click on the full text link, otherwise click on the SFX button that points you to where you may find the full text.

Citation databases

Postgraduates, academics and researchers can benefit from using citation databases. These databases can help users:

  • find out who is citing your research
  • analyse the impact of published research
  • check the accuracy of cited references in bibliographies
  • track the work of a noted authority in a subject area
  • keep up-to-date with published work in your field of research
  • learn how your research is influencing newer research
  • discover future directions of research

Three important databases are:

Web of Science
The Web of Science delivers web-based access to the citation indexes:
Science Citation Index 1945+
Social Sciences Citation Index 1956+
Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975+

Scopus
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature including peer-reviewed titles, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records, scientific web pages, with seamless links to full text articles.

Journal Citation Reports: JCR
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a comprehensive and unique resource tool for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 journals from over 3,000 publishers worldwide.
JCR is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in the areas of science, technology, and social sciences. JCR can show you the highest impact journals and the most frequently used journals.
The database includes two editions:
JCR Science Edition contains data from roughly 5,000 journals in the areas of science and technology.
JCR Social Science Edition contains data from roughly 1,500 journals in the social sciences.

Tips & Guides

Use the following guides to learn more about searching for journals:

Having problems accessing a database?


Need more help?